In the News

June 29, 2016

By Pauline Bartolone June 29, 2016

A measure that would compel pharmaceutical companies to disclose and justify drug price increases overcame a show of skepticism by Democratic lawmakers on Tuesday afternoon, passing the Assembly Health Committee 12-4 on a party-line vote.

June 29, 2016

By Ja'Nel Johnson

A key committee in the California Legislature has passed a prescription drug transparency bill after an hour-long debate Tuesday.

The bill would require drug manufacturers give advance notice to purchasers when prices increase by more than 10 percent or when a new drug costs more than $10,000.

June 21, 2016

By Pauline Bartolone

Hepatitis C drug Sovaldi has been priced at about $84,000 for a 12-week course of treatment, but a newer regimen has been priced at $54,000. (Bob Ecker/MCT via Getty Images)

June 9, 2016

POR: ARACELI MARTÍNEZ ORTEGA

Desde hoy, todo aquel que en California quiera comprar cigarrillos o cualquier producto de tabaco, deberá probar que tiene 21 años de edad.

June 9, 2016

NPR's Robert Siegel talks to state Sen. Ed Hernandez about California becoming the second state to raise the smoking age to 21. Hernandez authored the bill to raise the smoking age.

June 9, 2016

NPR's Robert Siegel talks to state Sen. Ed Hernandez about California becoming the second state to raise the smoking age to 21. Hernandez authored the bill to raise the smoking age.

Hear it here: http://www.npr.org/2016/06/09/481433805/california-raises-smoking-age-to-21?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=health&utm_medium=social&utm_term=nprnews

June 8, 2016

A new California law that takes another bold step to limit smoking goes into effect Thursday, raising the age limit to buy tobacco products from 18 to 21.

Another new law bans e-cigarettes from public places such as schools, restaurants and hospitals.